Category Archives

Blogging Towards Sunday | posts preparing for public worship, wrestling with scripture, culture, theology and daily life.

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 16, 2018

  Isaiah 42:1-9; Luke 3:7-18   Our readings in Advent have spread from the terror…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 9, 2018

 Esther 4:1-17; Luke 3:1-6    Last week our reading from Jeremiah dealt with the question…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 2, 2018

  The First Sunday of Advent Jeremiah 33:14-16; Luke 21:25-36   Our society hurdles itself…

Blogging Towards Sunday, November 25, 2018

  Luke 4:16-30; Matthew 4:23-5:12   Resistance is a big word in our culture today.…

Blogging Towards Sunday, November 9, 2018

  Isaiah 2:1-5; John 14:23-27; Matthew 4:23-5:9   Peace. We long for it in our…

Blogging Towards Sunday, October 28, 2018

Mark 7:1-23; Matthew 4:23-5:8   Exhausted. That’s how most people describe themselves these days. We’re…

Blogging Towards Sunday, October 21, 2018

  John 8:2-11; Matthew 4:23-5:7   The Beatitudes (Matthew 5:1-12) are identified as the essential…

Blogging Towards Sunday, October 14, 2018

  Luke 18:2-8; Matthew 4:23-5:6   The Beatitudes (Matthew 5:1-12) are identified as the essential…

Blogging Towards Sunday, September 30, 2018

Matthew 4:23-5:5   The Beatitudes (Matthew 5:1-12) are the essential teaching of Jesus. Recorded in…

Blogging Towards Sunday, September 23, 2018

   Matthew 4:23-5:4 & Isaiah 61:1-4, 8, 10-11   The Beatitudes (Matthew 5:1-12) are identified…