Category Archives

Blogging Towards Sunday | posts preparing for public worship, wrestling with scripture, culture, theology and daily life.

Blogging Towards Sunday, February 4, 2018

  John 4:1-42 Today’s scripture is easy to follow, but without some background information, it’s…

Blogging Towards Sunday, January 28, 2018

  John 3:1-21   Today’s scripture contains the most often quoted Bible verse in American…

Blogging Towards Sunday, January 21, 2018

John 2:13-25 Today’s scripture goes straight to the ways in which it is different than…

Blogging Towards Sunday, January 14, 2018

  John 2: 1-11   John is the fourth gospel, significantly different than the other…

Blogging Towards Sunday, January 7, 2018

John 1:35-51   John tells the story of the call of the first disciples differently…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 31, 2017

John 1:19-34   We move into our reading of the gospel of John with an…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 24, 2017

John 1:1-18   This week we again read a soaring piece of prophetic poetry, this…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 17, 2017

Isaiah 55:1-14 This week we read a soaring piece of prophetic poetry from the book…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 10, 2017

Ezekiel 37:1-14   We turn this week to the prophet Ezekiel, who was a priest…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 3, 2017 : the First Sunday of Advent

  Daniel 3:1-30   Resistance.  It’s a word that populates our current culture in politics,…