Category Archives

Blogging Towards Sunday | posts preparing for public worship, wrestling with scripture, culture, theology and daily life.

Blogging Towards Sunday, January 20, 2019

  John 13:31-35; 1 John 1:5-2:11   The best teachers and leaders I’ve known were…

Blogging Towards Sunday, January 13, 2019

  John 15:5-10; 1 John 1:1-4   Socrates at his trial for impiety and corrupting…

Blogging Towards Epiphany Sunday, January 6, 2019

  Matthew 2:1-23   Today we celebrate Epiphany. It’s the rare year that this twelfth…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 23, 2018

Isaiah 7:14-17 & Matthew 1:18-25   Our Advent readings have dealt with the question of…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 16, 2018

  Isaiah 42:1-9; Luke 3:7-18   Our readings in Advent have spread from the terror…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 9, 2018

 Esther 4:1-17; Luke 3:1-6    Last week our reading from Jeremiah dealt with the question…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 2, 2018

  The First Sunday of Advent Jeremiah 33:14-16; Luke 21:25-36   Our society hurdles itself…

Blogging Towards Sunday, November 25, 2018

  Luke 4:16-30; Matthew 4:23-5:12   Resistance is a big word in our culture today.…

Blogging Towards Sunday, November 9, 2018

  Isaiah 2:1-5; John 14:23-27; Matthew 4:23-5:9   Peace. We long for it in our…

Blogging Towards Sunday, October 28, 2018

Mark 7:1-23; Matthew 4:23-5:8   Exhausted. That’s how most people describe themselves these days. We’re…