Category Archives

Blogging Towards Sunday | posts preparing for public worship, wrestling with scripture, culture, theology and daily life.

Blogging Towards Sunday, March 3, 2019

1 John 4:19-5:21   We reach the end of our community reading of the letter…

Blogging Towards Sunday, February 24, 2019

  1 John 4:1-19   Human nature is by nature one of striving. It’s what…

Blogging Towards Sunday, February 17, 2019

    Genesis 4:1-8, 1 John 3:11-24   Faith is a fierce freeing force in…

Blogging Towards Sunday, February 10, 2019

1 John 2:18-3:10   How do you deal with people with whom you strongly disagree?…

Blogging Towards Sunday, January 20, 2019

  John 13:31-35; 1 John 1:5-2:11   The best teachers and leaders I’ve known were…

Blogging Towards Sunday, January 13, 2019

  John 15:5-10; 1 John 1:1-4   Socrates at his trial for impiety and corrupting…

Blogging Towards Epiphany Sunday, January 6, 2019

  Matthew 2:1-23   Today we celebrate Epiphany. It’s the rare year that this twelfth…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 23, 2018

Isaiah 7:14-17 & Matthew 1:18-25   Our Advent readings have dealt with the question of…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 16, 2018

  Isaiah 42:1-9; Luke 3:7-18   Our readings in Advent have spread from the terror…

Blogging Towards Sunday, December 9, 2018

 Esther 4:1-17; Luke 3:1-6    Last week our reading from Jeremiah dealt with the question…